Running for Boston

I had a post prepared for Monday, but then the explosions at the Boston Marathon happened and it didn’t seem right to post it. I’ll save it for another day.

So many have already written about Monday. I don’t have much to add to the discussion. Yesterday I woke up still sickened, and saddened, and angry about what happened.  What should have been a day of celebration and joy, turned into something horrible. I didn’t know what else to do, so I went for a run. I didn’t think about my training schedule, I just ran until I was too tired to run anymore. It seems like several other runners had the same idea because I saw more runners on the trails than I normally would on a Tuesday morning. I chatted with a couple, waved to them all, and I felt much better afterwards. It restored my faith in humanity.

Today I ran another 3 miles for Boston. I ran because that’s what I do.  I also ran because someone took the joy out of running for a day. I ran to take the joy back.

While I was running, I turned off my music and slowed down. I listened. Sometimes I forget to listen. I listened to the birds and the frogs, who were out in full voice yesterday. They reminded me that life continues to move forward. It’s a sobering reality, but one that gives me comfort.

My thoughts will continue to be with those who were affected by Monday’s tragedy. And if you want to do more than just run, you can donate to The One Fund. Or you could donate to one of the charities that the runners were running for.

As I ran yesterday, I stopped to snap a few photos along the way. The accidental photographer in me never rests. There was a cute family of turtles all lined up according to size on a log. I was looking forward to viewing it when I got home, but all I have in it’s place is a black square. Hopefully the turtles will be back next time I’m on this trail.

Leave a Reply

