Rest Day

IMG_0116

Chuck napping after our run.

I knew as soon as I posted about the “good weather ahead” last time, I would jinx myself.  But other than a large snowstorm mid-week, which once again threw a wrench in my training schedule, it was a pretty uneventful week here. I ran. I read. I knit. We built a snowman in the backyard. Nothing terribly exciting. I did cook some yummy food while stuck inside this week so I have recipes to share soon.

I made it almost all the way through my first magic loop sock. It was fairly easy to learn thanks to verypinkknits videos. I’ve always hated knitting with double-pointed needles, so I was happy that the Magic Loop Method worked so well.

knit sock

I frogged the cape I was working on. It was getting too tedious and the loose stitches between the color changes was driving my perfectionist mind nuts. I decided to quit before I got too far ahead – or behind, however you want to look at it. Maybe later I’ll try the cape again (with the proper yarn this time), but I’m setting it aside for now. In the meantime, I’ve found another pattern to knit after I’ve finished my socks.

****

Half Marathon Training Week 3

Week 3 didn’t go as well as I had hoped thanks to Old Man Winter paying us what is hopefully his final visit this year. I did get creative and stick to the plan for the most part though. (And I’m seriously considering saving up for a treadmill.)

  • Sunday: 2 easy miles
  • Monday: 3 easy miles + core work
  • Tuesday: Yoga
  • Wednesday: Strength training circuit
  • Thursday: 30 minutes running circles in my basement with my Wii Fit while watching the mid-day news. I played some of the games for another 15 minutes. According to my son’s science fair experiment this counts as legitimate exercise. Besides, I was snowed in and this was my only option.
  • Friday: 3 miles at race pace
  • Saturday: 3 easy miles
2 thoughts on “Rest Day

Leave a Reply

