Instant Gratification Knitting

Sometimes I like to knit long and involved projects, like sweaters and lace shawls.  I like to watch the fabric grow and the garment take shape. Pieces that involve lots and lots of stockinette stitch can have a meditative quality to them. In the colder months, they are comforting and cozy to knit. And a project knit over a weeks, or even months, provides a nice feeling of accomplishment when I’ve finished.

But other times I need some instant gratification. I want results NOW! And smaller projects are always easier to pack along to the kids activities, doctors offices, or anywhere else I’m stuck waiting awhile and it is either too noisy, or I’m just not in the mood to read. After knitting the Cormorant and Osprey, I was definitely ready for some instant gratification knitting, but I also wanted to learn something new. I found 2 patterns that filled my needs perfectly.

The first project was a Vogue pattern for a brimmed hat. I’ve had it in my binder for awhile but I always found something I wanted to knit instead. And I could never settle on a yarn. I thought it might look cute paired up with my new sweater, I even had some yarn left over so it would match perfectly, so I cast on. The new skills were: a knit casing around the base of the crown for an elastic band and 3-needle bind-off. The casing was a little awkward to work, but not too hard to figure out. The 3-needle bind-off was easy-peasy. Unfortunately, the model for the pattern looks much better in the hat than I do. This hat will probably never be seen on my head. If my daughter or my mom do not want it, it will probably go into the donate pile. It turned out nice though. I’m sure somebody will get some use out of it.

knit brimmed hat

The second project I knit was Elis – a cowl that has a unique texture featuring Indian-Cross-Stitch. I used Sublime Yarns Lustrous Extra Fine Merino, which is so soft and shimmery. I was intrigued by the cross-stitch. It was a bit awkward at first, but once I got the hang of it, it went pretty quickly. I had to be very careful to keep the tension even so my dropped stitches would all be the same length. I also had to watch that I passed the stitches over in the right order. They would sometimes get twisted, or fall off the needles, so I had to sort things out before I could forge ahead.

knit cowl

I really like how this one turned out. The cross-stitch added a unique detail to the cowl. The yarn is warm, but lightweight. It will be a nice piece for spring-time, which according to Punxsutawney Phil should be here before we know it. And I need spring to be here soon. I’m going through running withdrawal. I got out twice last week and I am itching to get back out again. We finally got snow, and lots of it. I’m going to take Chuck out for a walk in a bit to see if there is enough snow cleared for a safe run before the next snow band hits later this morning. Otherwise, I’ll be confined to indoor workouts for at least a week more. Maybe I can at least get out this week to snowboard with the kids, but this mama needs to run.

Leave a Reply

