The Fog Comes

The fog comes
on little cat feet.

It sits looking
over harbor and city
on silent haunches
and then moves on.

-Carl Sandburg

Today it was foggy and wet and warm. It was a perfect spring day….in January?!? I decided to stop questioning and take advantage by going out for a short run. I love running in a light rain. And the fog added a stillness to the air this morning. I even ran without music today, which is rare.

I met a new puppy on my route. He was a cute little Pit Bull who kept bringing me empty beer cans, dropping them at my feet and then beckoning me with his cute puppy eyes to play fetch. A few minutes prior I was starting to get angry at all the empty cans littered along the road. He refocused me back to a more positive frame of mind. He ran with me for about a quarter-mile before he went back home. I started to get worried that I was going to have to bring him back to his house myself, but he eventually got tired of our little game and went back home. I might pack some treats, or a tennis ball in my pocket next time I take this route, just in case he’s out and feeling playful again.

I didn’t snap a photo of my new friend. It was raining pretty steady at the time and I didn’t want my phone to get wet. I did snap this photo of a horse farm I passed along the way.

IMG_0091

I ran almost 4 miles this morning at a nice slow pace. It was a good morning.

Leave a Reply

