Cormorant

About a month ago, I finished my second sweater of my knitting career. It’s the Cormorant from Norah Gaughan’s Flyaway pattern book. As I said in my previous post, it was an  intimidating pattern for me to start, as I’m still fairly new to knitting and my confidence isn’t always there. But I like a challenge, and I really liked the sweater, so after successfully completing the Osprey scarf, I decided I could handle the Cormorant (my project notes are on Ravelry).

Cormorant

I’m pretty darn proud of myself. There are a few small mistakes, but nothing terribly obvious. And my shoulder seaming looks much better than my last attempt. No bumps or puckers this time. I still need to find a button for it, but until then I think the shawl pin works nicely.

It was a nice pattern to knit. I used Wool of the Andes for the main body and Palette for the ruffle. Both yarns are available from Knitpicks. I’ve been knitting on a budget lately, so Knitpicks is my usual go to place for inexpensive but nice yarns.

Some knitters on Ravelry commented about the amount of stockinette stitch on the sleeves being boring. I actually didn’t have a problem with that. The ruffle was where I got frustrated. There were so many stitches on the needle, my knitting felt like it was going nowhere. While I was knitting it, I kept thinking of those birds you see flying into the wind on super windy days, flapping with all their might and not getting anywhere; I was knitting for hours but not seeing much progress. Eventually the ruffle was finished and I think the end result was worth it.

Cormorant

The sleeves are extra long, which might bother some, but I love them that way. I’m always cold, so I end up pulling the cuffs of my sweaters and knit tops down over my hands to keep warm. With this sweater I don’t have to pull, the sleeves already cover my hands. The back neck extension is a little tall. It doesn’t bother me too much as I have a long neck, but I don’t like how it makes the collar lay. It tends to bunch and slouch after I’ve been wearing it for awhile. I don’t know if there is any way to help it keep straight and tall – probably not.

Cormorant

I gained some more confidence in my knitting with this project. And I definitely feel better about seaming and picking up stitches now that I’ve finished this sweater.

Right now I have couple of small projects in my knitting bag – a cowl and some washcloths. After this sweater, I wanted some immediate gratification knitting before I tackled a larger project again.

2 thoughts on “Cormorant

Leave a Reply

