Tilli Tomas Artisan Sock Gloves

I made these Tilli Tomas Artisan Sock Gloves in early December, I think, back when it was still fairly warm, and even though it was December, I was still able to wear a light jacket and fingerless gloves. I wore the heck out of these gloves too. They are really soft and the perfect fit. Dear hubby was happy they weren’t black. I really am trying to add some color to my wardrobe. I figure adding them in small amounts to my accessories is a good place to start.

It only took me a weekend to knit up the pattern. It was fun pattern to knit. I used Knitpicks Felici Fingering Self Striping Sock Yarn in Firefighter. It’s the first time I’ve tried this yarn, and I liked it. It’s very soft and easy to work with. I think I’m going to order some more so I can try my hand at sock knitting this winter. The gloves are knit with a double strand, so a double strand of the striping yarn had a neat effect on the color variation.

Tilli Thomas Elbow Gloves

I like how they go all the way to my elbows, so I can wear them with the few 3/4-sleeve sweaters and jackets I own.

IMG_0048

I think if I were to knit another, I would make the thumb a little longer. It hits just under my knuckle, which is a little too short for my liking.

My daughter has been eying mine, so I decided to knit her up a pair in pink. I went down one needle size to accommodate her smaller arms.

IMG_0077She loved hers, but I chose a yarn from my stash, Patons Kroy Sock yarn, and it wasn’t as soft as the Felici. It also turns out she is horribly allergic to wool. Poor thing broke out in a rash at school and had to take them off and visit the school nurse for some relief. I’m going to knit her a new pair that she can wear in the spring. I think I’ll stick with soft, and non-allergic fiber for the next pair. Any suggestions on yarn I could try? Maybe you have a favorite you’d like to share?

Leave a Reply

