Sunday Brunch: Oatmeal Cottage Cheese Pancakes

I’ve seen this recipe around the interwebs in various forms, and I have a cookbook with a version of these tasty little pancakes. I’ll admit that when I first heard of making pancakes out of oatmeal and cottage cheese I thought, ewwww! But in keeping with my healthy 2012 New Year’s Resolution, I gave them a try and they were actually pretty yummy. My family even thought so too. My daughter, who is a notoriously picky eater, actually said she prefers these to the “old kind”.

This is my version of these healthier and protein packed pancakes.

What you’ll need for about 4 servings:

  • 1 cup of oats
  • 1 cup of cottage cheese
  • 4 eggs (or 8 egg whites)
  • honey (a couple of tablespoons)
  • cinnamon and/or nutmeg (optional)
  • 1 tsp. of baking powder
  • juice from 1/2 a lemon
  • vanilla

Directions:

  • In a food processor, grind up the oats until they look a little like flour.
  • Add in the cottage cheese, eggs, honey, cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla and mix together.
  • Stir in the baking powder and lemon juice.
  • Grease up your griddle with butter or vegetable oil and cook the cakes just like you would regular pancakes. These tend to stick to the pan more than regular pancakes, especially if you try to turn them too soon, so be sure your pan is well greased and be patient.

I serve mine with warm berries and my husband’s homemade maple syrup.

Happy Sunday!

5 thoughts on “Sunday Brunch: Oatmeal Cottage Cheese Pancakes

  1. Looks yummy! How much cinnamon/nutmeg and vanilla would you advise using? Can you use bottled lemon juice instead of a fresh lemon, and if so how much?

    • Thanks! You can use bottled juice. 1-2 Tbsp of the bottled juice is equivalent to 1/2 a lemon. I’m not good about measuring for the other ingredients, but I would approximate 1 tsp of vanilla, and 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and 1/4 nutmeg is close to what I used.

Leave a Reply

