On The Needles

It’s been a bit rainy here, except for yesterday when it was beautiful, sunny and 68. I fully enjoyed yesterday, but it makes the snow that is threatening this weekend that much more unbearable. With all the gray days, I’ve spent a lot of them on my chair knitting with an eye towards more warm and sunny days.

I have 2 projects going right now. One is a lacy shrug – the Illyria Bolero ( a free pattern from Ravelry). I love this pattern. It’s challenging to knit, so it keeps me engaged. Unfortunately, it’s not a good pattern to knit while there are distractions around so it might take me awhile to finish because in this house, quiet moments are hard to come by.

I chose a baby alpaca yarn from a local farm just a few miles up the road from my house. I even got to meet the alpaca who gave up her fiber so I could knit myself a shrug for spring. It’s so soft and I love working with it.

The other project I’m working on is a pair of spiral rib leg-warmers from the Purl Bee. I had some yarn left over from my cardigan so I decided to turn it into a pair of legwarmers to wear with my dresses this spring. I love the texture of this fabric, and they are knitting up pretty quickly. I got this section knit during my kids’ Tang Soo Do class the other night.

The yarn I’m using is lighter weight than the pattern calls for, but I just went up a needle size and they are fitting just fine. Hopefully I’ll have some legwarmers by the end of the weekend. And then I’ve been commissioned by my daughter to knit her up a pair in pink.

What projects are you working on this week?

Leave a Reply

