Sunday Brunch: Shirred Eggs

I love a good breakfast. Not just in the morning either. We have backwards days around here sometimes; days where we eat breakfast for dinner. Those nights are usually eggs done somehow: fritattas, scrambled, snotty and looking at you (dear husband’s term for sunny-side up), omelets, or any other way we feel inclined to eat them. Sometimes I even let the kids cook their own eggs. They play diner and take our orders, cook our eggs and serve them to us with toast and fruit. They love these backwards dinner nights. They feel a sense of independence. It’s fun. They don’t even suspect my ulterior motive most of these night – that it’s an easy and inexpensive dinner once in a while.

I was bored one day and searched for a new-to-me way to cook eggs. Something that wouldn’t require a lot of preparation and was somewhat healthy. And of course it had to taste good. In my searches, I discovered my new favorite way to cook eggs, which up until now was to fry them. I stumbled across shirred eggs a few weeks ago and I’ve had them for breakfast quite a few times since. I know it’s a classic egg dish, but it’s taken me 40 years on this earth to discover them. I’m so glad I finally did.

Ingredients for a single serving:

  • 1 egg
  • 1 Tbsp of cream (milk will work too)
  • salt
  • pepper
  • You can also get creative and add some herbs, like Thyme or Tarragon. Or finely chopped shallots, leeks or onions, mushrooms, and/or shredded cheese.

Next, preheat your oven to 425 degrees. Grease a ramekin (or muffin tin) with butter. Crack the egg into it. Then add the cream, herbs, salt, and pepper. Bake for about 7-10 minutes. You don’t want to overcook them. The yolk should still be soft.

You can make the yolk a little soft and dunk toast sticks into it. Or, my other favorite way is to make an egg sandwich with it. I let it cook until the yolk is hard. then remove it from the ramekin, slice it, put it on an english muffin with mayo, avocado, lettuce and tomato. Yum!

They are also good over a bed of fresh arugula, which in a few short months I’ll hopefully be able to get fresh from my backyard garden.

One thought on “Sunday Brunch: Shirred Eggs

Leave a Reply

