Mimosa Hat

I took a break from my sweater like I said I was going to, and knit a hat. I think I might have had a “Tigger Moment” with this hat. It was a little harder than I thought it would be. I’m sure for an experienced knitter it would be easy-peasy, but this was my first real cable project and I happened to choose one that was also mixed with lace. What I was thinking, I’m not entirely sure. I saw a hat I liked and in true Tigger fashion dove right in thinking, “Woo hoo hoo hoo, that’s what Tigger’s do best!” I finished it though, and more importantly, I learned a few things and it looks good enough to wear.

Mimosa Beanie

Mimosa Slouchy Beanie

The hat is made from a free pattern by Caron call Mimosa Slouchy Beanie. My hat didn’t turn out so slouchy though. The band was nice and stretchy, but I must have tightened up my stitches on the main part of the hat because it was very stiff and cone-like. Blocking this pattern on a salad plate helped. It relaxed the stitches in the cabling section and gave it a slouchy shape.

Mimosa Beanie

Hat blocking on salad plate

The hat is knit with Knitpicks City Tweed. I love this yarn. It’s soft and durable and affordable! I knit this hat to match a pair of glittens and an infinity scarf that I made earlier this season.

I tried to get a nice photo of all three pieces, but I'm not the most photogenic person around.

So I resorted to funny, fish-faces.

I found the glitten pattern on Ravelry. The infinity scarf I just made up as I went along. I wanted a really big, scrunchy scarf that I could burrow down into during the bitter, cold, winter months we normally get here. I cast  216 stitches onto a size 11 circular needle. Then I joined the round and knit in seed stitch until it was as wide as I wanted it. I made mine about 14 inches wide. I bound off with an elastic bind-off to keep it nice and stretchy. It wraps comfortably around my neck 3 times. Or you can wrap it around twice for a looser look.

The hat is far from perfect. I think only a few rounds have the correct number of stitches and perfectly straight cables, but the mistakes are slight and not really noticeable. The hat turned out kind of like my life right now: a little more complicated than I would like it with a few mistakes along the way, but everything is working out in the end.

Now I think I will get back to my sweater.

Leave a Reply

