On The Needles

Sweater_wip

Right now I’m working on a Tab Button Jacket by Debbie Bliss. I’m using Knitpicks Swish DK yarn in Garnet Heather.

I’ve been working on this sweater for a very long time.  I started it around Memorial Day weekend of 2011. I’ve been taking breaks in between each piece.  I’m easily distracted by new yarns and patterns, and I’m a bit bored by the pattern. The back piece was especially boring.  All those rows of tiny, stockinette stitch seem endless and dull.  It’s a good take-a-long, or knit-in-front-of-the-TV project, as it doesn’t require much thought.

Even though I’m finding it boring to work on, I like how it is turning out so far, and I have learned a few things along the way. This is my first sweater, so I am a little worried about it turning out too big, or too small, or misshapen in some other way, but it actually seems to be knitting up just right. I hope I haven’t spoken too soon. I would hate to have spent all this time on something that ends up in the donate pile.

Since I just finished the right sleeve, I’ll probably take another break to knit a small project for some immediate gratification. I just have one sleeve and the neck band left to knit. I am determined to finish it before winter ends so I can enjoy wearing it at least once.

Leave a Reply

