You Might Be a Redneck If…….

A little back story here for those of you new to the R household….

I grew up in the suburbs of Chicago.  I spent most of my college-age years a vegetarian.  I even spent one of those years vegan.  My husband grew up in Upstate NY in a very small town.  So small, that they did not get their first 4-way stop until the year we got married.  He is a carnivore.  In fact, I’m not so sure he is completely aware that there are other food groups besides the meat group.  He also hunts.  I used be against hunting somewhat.  Never completely, but as a former vegetarian, killing Bambi’s dad never appealed much to me.  Somehow, despite our differences, we hooked up.

And oh my, how things have changed……

deer head

I’ve never been a fan of Bob and George (and Ben who will be joining the family in February thanks to a successful hunt this year), but I’ve learned to live with them.  And I thought maybe if I decorated them for Christmas, they would look a little less, what’s the word….

deer head

inanimate….dead….creepy? 

My husband thinks I’ve come to like Bob and Sam since I got close enough to them to actually put a hat on them.  I don’t know if “like” is the right word.  But I have definitely come to accept them.  As long as they stay out of my living room!

Leave a Reply

