Handmade Coasters

I always have a hard time starting new things, hence the delay in starting this blog up.  Even though I’ve kept two blogs successfully and consistently updated for over 3 years now, this particular blog is new and therefore, I am having the problem of getting started.  I think it is especially hard because there are so many things rumbling around in my brain right now. 

Since it is the holiday season, I will start with this craft project I just finished up that would make a great gift.  

Handmade Tile Coasters

What you will need:

  • 4 4-inch by 4-inch ceramic or glass tiles (I found my tiles in the clearance section of the home improvement store for $1.00 each)
  • ruler
  • cutting mat
  • rotary cutter
  • PVA glue (I like this one from Annie Howe’s.)
  • clear varnish
  • 4 photos that can be cropped square or some pretty paper (Annie Howe’s has a wonderful paper selection too.)
  • rubber bumpons
  • Coaster backside

    The black things are the bumpons in case your were wondering.

Directions:

  1. Cut you photo into a 4 x 4 square.
  2. Spread a thin layer of PVA glue on the back of the photo or the surface of the tile (whichever you prefer, although I find it easier if I spread the glue on the tile.)
  3. Place the photo or paper on your tile and smooth out any bubbles.   Be careful not to get glue on the paper.  I like to use a bone burnishing tool and a damp rag for this job.
  4. Let dry at least 24 hours.
  5. Once the glue is dry, check to make sure the corners of the photo are stuck down.  They might need a little glue at the corners.  You can apply a few drops with a toothpick if needed.
  6. Apply varnish over the photo following manufacturer’s instructions.  (I recommend at least 3 coats of a good polyurethane so your coaster can withstand hot cups of tea.)
  7. Once varnish is dry, apply bumpons to the underside of the tile.  This will help the coasters stay in place and protect the table they are sitting on.  You can also glue a square of felt on the bottom of the tile if you can’t find any bumpons.
  8. Allow 7 days for the varnish to completely cure before heavy use.
  9. Now you have some wonderful, custom coasters to keep for yourself or hand out as gifts this season.

Photo Tile Coasters

Leave a Reply

